What states have physician-assisted suicide?

Current Status Nationwide:

Nine states and Washington, D.C., have death with dignity statutes (in order by year of enactment)

  • Oregon (Death with Dignity Act; 1994)
  • Washington (Death with Dignity Act; 2008)
  • Vermont (Patient Choice and Control at the End of Life Act; 2013)
  • California (End of Life Option Act; approved in 2015, in effect from 2016)
  • Colorado (End of Life Options Act; 2016)
  • District of Columbia (D.C. Death with Dignity Act; 2016)
  • Hawaii (Our Care, Our Choice Act; 2018)
  • Maine (Death with Dignity Act; 2019)
  • New Jersey (Aid in Dying for the Terminally Ill Act; 2019)
  • New Mexico (Elizabeth Whitefield End of Life Options Act; 2021)

In Montana, the Baxter v. Montana (2009) court decision created a defense for a physician who is prosecuted should the physician be charged in assisting a suicide, although prosecutions and convictions for assisted suicide remain possible in Montana.